Samui’s Fall 2016 Watchlist

It’s been a year since I started blogging in MyAnimeList. That aside, shall we take a look at these upcoming shows? 

My enjoyment with the current season feels like an inverted parabola at this point. I am just waiting for them to end and maybe I will forget my frustration (soon) with my mid-season favorites. Orange seems to have peaked somewhere in episodes 6-7 and nosedived since then. The same can be said with DAYS where the show begins to look like a montage of Powerpoint Presentation disguised as an anime episode. I also do not get the hype with Re: Zero. Subaru is a unique protagonist but everything around him past episode 17 (and that includes Rem) is something I have already seen with other shows. Well, I still have hopes in Summer 2016 since BONES just loves to be good in whatever they do although I have my reservations with Mob Psycho 100‘s way of mirroring some of One Punch Man’s plot elements. Simply watch their offerings until the upcoming season to see what I am talking about.

Yes. Fall 2016 is a season of sequels similar in last year’s vein. I am also not that hot with new offerings (except for two and Kiss Him, Not Me because I love the manga). Yet who knows? Concrete Revolutio, One Punch Man and StarMyu acquitted themselves from fairly good to totally awesome original series last year. Well, it also means I won’t have to worry  that much as far as the quality is concerned. I can simply ignore sequels (Bubuki Buranki and Bungou Stray Dogs) whose respective first cours didn’t do me anything. It also does not help that I am not keen on character designs of All Out!! so I am quitting even before I start seeing its first episode.  Let’s start?

SEQUELS… SEQUELS… SEQUELS

Ajin

2b2f61e0079ac8a0db5c4c75d9b0036cfe905f64

What I think: Thankfully, the kamisamas heard my prayer and this well-written horror show gets the closure it needs after the first season’s non-ending. I should get used with the awful CGIs by now, so it’s time to savor the straightforward (but well presented) plot of Ajin. I expect Kou to get more screentime although I am not a fan of his white-knight disposition. I just want Satou cause wreck among this crappy humans in their universe. What I am worried though is where Ajin will present Kei. He has been in the sidelines for a quite while. Lastly, please show me where the heck Kai is right now.

DAYS

What I think: I wished DAYS would stop pandering on Tsukamoto’s supposed potential and actually dived on his improvement as a soccer player. My affection with the show waned after they stopped playing on my feels and pretended they’re focusing on the real sports. Man, I was not prepared to witness some good Powerpoint slides in your show. You know, even Chihayafuru and Rakugo had some moments of brilliant animation despite their docile object of interest. DAYS remains watchable but I kind of lowered my expectation after episode 9.

Mobile Gundam Suit: Iron Blooded Orphans

What I think: Now that Kudelia landed on Earth and caused havoc, I hope Okada will set aside this messy politics thing for the dudes of Tekkadan. She is an expert on dysfunctional dramas so her style will work in these broken soldiers after all. That’s what I loved about the series in the first place. You know, Orga and Mikazuki’s unhealthy dependence with each other and the way things work in Tekkadan. On the other hand, I am fairly interested with the aftermath of Kudelia finally turning into a real prominent figure on Earth.

Sound! Euphonium

What I think: My potential AOTS, that’s all. Kyoto Animations sure knows how to do a good Slice of Life show. If this follows the vein of season one’s excellence from episode six onwards, I am much more willing to say that it’s going to be my anime of the year. The studio has to redeem itself from the chuuni-mess called Phantom World.

CANON FODDERS

Yuri on Ice

Summary:The story revolves around Yuuri Katsuki, who carried all of Japan’s hopes on his shoulders to win at the Gran Prix Finale ice skating competition, but suffered a crushing defeat. He returns home to Kyushu and half feels like he wants to retire, and half feels like he wants to continue ice skating. With those mixed feelings swirling inside him, he confines himself inside his parents house. Suddenly the five-time consecutive world championship ice skater Victor Nikiforov appears before him, and along with him is Yuri Plisetsky, a young Russian figure skater who is already defeating his seniors. Victor and both Yuris take up the challenge on an unprecedented Gran Prix series.

What I think:I thought this is going to be about women who are too passionate with ice skating! I guess Yaoi on Ice should be its more appropriate title. UGH. On a more serious note, MAPPA is a good studio in terms of aesthetics but I am worried about the actual animation (see Garo Season 2 and DAYS). I don’t think they’re going to put some ounce of melancholy in this show (the thing I like with Rakugo and Battery, to a lesser extent) and Yuri on Ice might be full of tropes. I only pin my hopes on the rather energetic presentation this will give once it airs.

Classicaloid

Summary: In a rural town undergoing revival through music, high school students Kanae and Sousuke meet none other than Beethoven and Mozart! Calling themselves “Classicaloids”, this mysterious duo creates a strange power through the “music” they play. One night, stars fall from the sky and gigantic robots appear, causing trouble every single day! Bach, Chopin, Schubert also appear as Classicaloids. What is the mystery behind the powers they possess? Are they humanity’s friend or foe?

What I think: Its colorful palettes and the very anime premise took my attention upon scanning the list of Fall 2016 shows. Now, I am all in for shows that embrace their own eccentricities (Gatchaman Crowds and Kyosou Giga) and I think Classicaloid will do just that. The series looks like it is brimming with energy and has potential to present sakugas, especially coming from Sunrise. What makes me afraid is it might be bombarded with jokes that will fly through my head (the first half of Osomatsu-san). Yet who knows? I like Binbougami Ga and it presented numerous pop cultural references as well.

Occultic; Nine

Summary: The “paranormal science” story follows nine idiosyncratic individuals, linked by the “Chōjō Kagaku Kirikiri Basara” occult summary blog run by 17-year-old second-year high school student Yūta Gamon. Little incongruities that occur around these nine eventually lead to a larger, unimaginable event that may alter what is considered common sense in this world.

What I think: I think it will be a fairly episodic series that leads to a greater plot akin to Sakurako-san with the enjoyment I had with The Perfect Insider. Gah. In short, pretentious and boring. It has a fairly dark premise but… man, I am not sure with shows with semicolon anymore.Stein’s;Gate is the only good one I saw (and heard of) so far.

Shuumatsu no Izetta

f581b0b69ca8270e772bbd3922bd6a9017934f2a

Summary: In 1939 C.E., the imperialist nation of Germania invaded a neighboring country. All at once, that war spread throughout Europe, and the era was dragged into a spiral of a great war.Then, in 1940, Germania’s attack turned towards the Principality of Elystadt, a small Alps country abundant with beautiful water and greenery.

What I think: Welp! A show with a straightforward premise. This can get pretty boring pretty fast (Tales of Zestiria) if it does not inject something different in the plot. Yet, there’s something grand with its setting that pays homage to the actual WW2 and Switzerland (I guess that’s the nation they are referring to). I got a good feeling about this show.

Gakuen Handsome

cb5dc86720d3ef4ef113a2f77775388e5cf72912

Summary:The “school love story” is set at Baramon High School, a private boys’ school for the prefecture’s most elite. The protagonist transferred into the school and meets various major players on campus, such as the “outlaw teacher,” the soccer captain, and a childhood friend whom the protagonist has not seen in seven years. The school presents opportunities for friendship, love, and conflict. The tagline of the game is, “Whenever you exited the school gates, you were handsome.”

What I think: Uhh…I know Gakuen Handsome’s jokes will ran out before its screentime finishes. I am just going to taste what it feels like to watch a show that intentionally squanders our perception about the bishounen culture. It has to rely less from its quirky artwork to be actually funny. Nonetheless, it’s a short so it won’t kill me spending some 10 minutes a week with it.

Watashi ga Motete Dousunda

Summary: Serinuma Kae is a second year high schooler and an avid fujoshi who secretly ships her classmates, Igarashi-kun and Nanashima-kun. The death of her favorite anime character causes her to become stressed—and loses weight rapidly. Now that Serinuma has became an attractive girl to her classmates, her snarky kouhai Shinomiya-kun, and her senpai Mutsumi, how is she going to deal with them …with her constant BL-filled, fujoshi mind?!

What I think: You know what? Brains Base is a good studio in terms of pacing its adaptation! Cheer Danshi turned out to be a keeper if you ignore the production values. Man, someone find this studio a smash hit to fund its shows! For Kiss Him, Not Me, I am happy for a 1:1 adaptation because the manga is actually funny. It pokes fun and glorifies the fujoshi culture at the same time. Some might get offended with the underlying message of boys only getting attracted with bishojou ladies though.

GENUINELY EXCITED

Sangatsu no Lion

Summary: Rei Kiriyama is a 17-year-old boy who recently started living alone, financed by his salary as a professional Shogi player. Despite his independence, however, he’s yet to mature emotionally, and his problems continue to haunt him in his daily life. His relationship with his adoptive family is strained, and he has difficulties interacting with his fellow high school students. Meanwhile, his professional career has entered a slump. Burdened with the heavy expectations placed on him as the fifth to become pro in middle school, his wins and losses are fluctuating as his record and progression into the ranks begin to stagnate. Acquainted with Rei are the three Kawamoto sisters: Akari, Hinata, and Momo. Unlike Rei, they live happily in their modest home, which they warmly welcome Rei into as if he were one of their own. Despite his reservations about becoming too close to the family, he frequently visits, interacting with them and receiving the kind of care and affection he never quite had while under his foster home.This is the story of Rei’s triumphs and failures, relationships new and old, and his growth as a person.

What I think: Honey and Clover became JC Staff’s magnum opus when it got an anime adaptation. Sangatsu no Lion is another work of that mangaka so it raised the bar immediately. With that and by reading the premise, I am instantly hooked in its coming of age theme. I am worried that it should have been animated by Madhouse or Kyoto Animations instead since Shaft’s eccentricities might destroy the nuances of this otherwise graceful show.

Fune Wo Amu

Summary: The publication of a new dictionary titled The Great Passage progresses. Mitsuya Majime, originally from publisher Genbu Shobo’s sales department, has been recruited by Kouhei Araki, a veteran editor of the dictionary department who is looking to retire soon. The dictionary department is known internally as the “money-eating insect,” but Mitsuya uses his perseverance and attachment to the words in order to become a great editor. Mitsuya, who has poor social skills, finds himself working with another man named Masashi Nishioka, who is able to express himself better.

What I think: If you think the character designs look too Rakugo, it is because the mangaka drew them for this show. I personally see this as a good thing, since that show’s aesthetics are kind of different with the moe one Kyoto Animations popularized with K-On. I don’t care with the premise sounding too elitist-bait. There’s something naturalistic and obscured about Fune Wo Amu that reminds me about Noitamina in its early days. I hope this time slot closes this year with a show which tells us why we should still look with their offerings. In fairness, ERASED and Kabaneri got attention this year, although they sizzled in their respective second halves.

That’s it! Here’s my watchlist for Fall 2016. Any violent reactions? None? None. Let’s go back finishing this season altogether.

4 thoughts on “Samui’s Fall 2016 Watchlist

  1. Our opinions coming into this seem very different. I’m curious how Koe no Katachi will be handled, since my opinions on the manga serialisation was mixed to say the least. The one shot was pretty good. I’ll not dwell on Hibike, my opinions on it have been more-or-less static for a year, so it’s definitely not a best of the year contender for me, I’m afraid :(. Ditto for Ajin, whose flaws are very unique to it. If I had to pick a favourite pre-emptively, I’d say Yuri on Ice, largely because it’s being directed by the woman behind “The Woman called Fujiko Mine”, I think. I am cautiously optimistic for Drifters, due to the staff and style involved, but production values seem iffy from the previews. I actually didn’t know about Fune Wo Amu (the term “elitist bait” makes no sense in anime; there are no oscars and these titles are normally tentatively overlooked. Clearly any title like this is a big risk by a group who really think they have something special on their hands) till I read this, but it sounds like my jam. Sangatsu no Lion might hit or miss for me, given mellow, sentimental slice of life have both greatly impressed me and bored me to tears in the past. Other than that, maybe (and this is a big maybe) Token Ranbu? It’s a shame I’m so far behind on Gundam, Haikyuu, Natsume Juujincho and others :(. Still, I finish in November, so I should be able to catch up on this year’s earlier stuff.

    Like

  2. No one can stop me from loving Kumiko man so Eupho gets a preferential treatment! Seriously, its brand of straightforward drama wins me over last year. 😁

    I have known Fune Wo Amu since Spring and I am patiently waiting for it to air. My friend says the story shifts from one genre to another but I hope it’ll be like Mushishi’s kind of storytelling. Lastly, I have encountered some real elitist IRL. They’re kind of moe when you think of it.

    I hope the animation will be pretty for Yuri on Ice. I really hope since it’s a sports show. I am also behind Haikyuu (which is a shame). Sigh. Have you finished Rakugo?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s not available on Crunchyroll in Australia anymore, at least on some platforms (It doesn’t show up on their app, but then again for some weird reason neither does School days O_O despite working on browsers). I’m hoping to focus on it when I’m a bit more ahead in work. After next week, I will work on it, but I have my third year Chemistry mid-semesters approaching. Think of me as a Yukinoshita-style tunnel visioned workaholic. I hope Kizumonogatari gets a digital release, because I refuse to spend $50 on a short movie that tells a third of the story (plus, I’m legal only).

      Like

      1. Man, you missed the pizzas in the show. Sigh. 😦

        Oh. I am not sure if I asked this before but what course are you taking in the university? It seems like you have a very hectic schedule. Waaah.Glad that I am already done with that phase.

        PS: *hides my pirate hat because there’s no way these shows will be available here in my country.*

        Like

Leave a Reply

