First Sunshine Blogger Award – Samui’s Take

Apparently, chain posts are a thing in ani-blogosphere.

A cool blogger in the name of Japanimetalks (an awesome one if you asked) tagged me in this thing. Well, it’s kinda similar with 50 Questions About Samui I posted earlier. Enjoy my take to her questions. Thanks in advance!

Hisoka or Chrollo? And why?

It’s no brainer I will choose Hisoka in any day. Who doesn’t love that psychotic character from Hunter x Hunter?

What was the most thought-provoking anime / manga you’ve watched/ read?

Anime? Hmmm? Shin Sekai Yori, Haibane Renmei, Aku no Hana and Mushishi made me stop and think in a while about. Aku no Hana in particular is so twisted I cannot help but ponder if I am thankful I wasn’t thrown in the MC’s situation, or I met a Nakamura to make my already gloomy high school all the more twisted.

For manga? *blushes* You do realize by now that I am a fudanshi so… yeah, what I can give are BL-tinted ones. Of course, I don’t want to lose my hipster cred so I’ll say Mushishi.

What was the most overrated AND underrated anime series you’ve encountered?

Overrated: Probably Code Geass. Mind you, I love the show and all but I don’t think I’ll be swept in the fever it unleashed if I watched that 10 years ago. I also do not get the appeal of Death Note. That went bad real quick after L died.

Underrated: Go and watch Concrete Revolutio you filthy boor!

If given a chance to rewrite a part of the Naruto series, which character death would you have prevented? Why? If none, why?

I did not watch Naruto but let me answer that in my most favorite show. Perhaps The Monte Cristo. I want him see the light of the day after realizing revenge isn’t the answer for his peace.

Have you done something so uncharacteristically hilarious in the name of anime? If yes, what is it?

How about introducing my real life girlfriend to a 2D Saber figure and telling her that she’s my waifu? I got some good slap after that. That was fun though.

IF, by some astronomically thin chance, anime and manga gets banned, what would be the FIRST THING you’ll do?

I don’t know. Don’t ask. Anime is the reason why I am still fine today. I might be back with my depression or go back in my audiophile mode.

Who’s your favorite FEMALE anime character of all times? Why?

I love female characters who are resilient despite the curse thrown to them. I’ll probably say Tohru from Fruits Basket and Watanabe Saki from Shin Sekai Yori. Makise Kurisu is the epitome of cute tsundere though.

I kinda wished you asked me about my husbandos instead. We can talk about that for days!

What’s your primary motivation for blogging?

Well, it’s just a hobby of mine and I love talking to myself like those characters in a shoujo manga. Yeah. Come to think of it, it will be a year since I did this! Banzai!

If given a chance to team up with another anime blogger for an awesome blog post, who will it be? Why?

Hmm? I guess I love to have a collaboration with my fellow Filipino bloggers. That will be really cool. A take on anime purely from the East!

What’s the most exotic food you’ve tasted so far?

I can’t remember it but it tasted bad. Also, I don’t like miso soup.

What was that thing you did that you’re most proud of?

I am still alive despite my suicidal thoughts. On a lesser serious note, I can now read BL mangas in a bus. Such a proud man.

Also, yeah, moving to Manila is the right thing. I will probably have become a hikikomori for too long should I stayed in my house. I am still earning money in those times though.

4 thoughts on “First Sunshine Blogger Award – Samui’s Take

  1. Oh, I’ll try this too.

    Hisoka or Chrollo? And why?
    Chrollo is kinda boring, so Hisoka.

    What was the most thought-provoking anime / manga you’ve watched/ read?
    Either Mushishi or Monster. I’m leaning more towards the latter.

    Overrated/Underrated?
    I might annoy people and say Monogatari. It deserves to have its weaknesses more commonly criticised. As for underrated, I suppose Akagami no Shirayukihime comes to mind.

    I’ve barely seen Naruto.

    Have you done something so uncharacteristically hilarious in the name of anime? If yes, what is it?
    Talking about it in public is a huge no-no for me, I’m afraid :(.

    IF, by some astronomically thin chance, anime and manga gets banned, what would be the FIRST THING you’ll do?
    Lament, but I’ve not really considered this. Most people stream illegally anyway (for shame).

    Who’s your favorite FEMALE anime character of all times? Why?
    Integra for inspiration, but Holo is really endearing and complex.

    What’s your primary motivation for blogging?
    Stating my opinion. It also sharpens my writing and is an activity I like. I don’t care much about views; my favourite articles are some of my least popular.

    If given a chance to team up with another anime blogger for an awesome blog post, who will it be? Why?
    I suppose the Golden Realist comes to mind. Standing on my Neck would probably contradict everything I say.

    What’s the most exotic food you’ve tasted so far?
    I suppose Okonomiyaki. I’m not much of a connoisseur.

    What was that thing you did that you’re most proud of?
    Winning a scholarship and getting the highest possible ranking in the state. And all my charity work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

