Samui’s Winter 2017 Watchlist

I’ll put this first – the upcoming season is bound to suck big time.

There’s something wrong when two thirds of what you’re going to watch in Winter 2017 are leftover or sequels. Worse, I don’t think I’ll lose anything big if I don’t watch any of these new shows. Unlike its excellent counterparts for the last two years, I am afraid this season is the basic definition of bland in every sense. Yet I also think it will be unfair to judge these shows just because I am not its intended demographic.

PS: Just so you know, I am dropping Classicaloid after its first cour. That’s all.

Sequels

Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! 2

0c433677880ae4a6234eeb9ff8459aaf44898e2e

Expectation: The first season made me laugh so hard thanks to the dynamics of our set of scum err… protagonists. I don’t intend to watch this seriously except for anything related Aqua and Kazuma’s gags. I also don’t see the jokes growing old anytime soon. Behold the power of derpy animation Studio DEEN!

Ao no Exorcist: Kyoto Fujouou-hen

b72cb35f6686cdccdabb8ab15c762f7a11d17f8c

Expectation: The first season of Ao no Exorcist is pleasant, albeit the plot becomes a tad too convoluted towards the end. Nonetheless, Rin and his gang remain likeable all throughout and this shounen series has heart. I know it sounds corny but I love shows that have empathy for its premise and for its characters. Well, I am up for another solid (but not great) shounen flick this year. Color me hyped.

Tales of Zestiria the X 2nd Season

651979adab820d0ac23b23537d3db41e56fe0dd4

Expectation: Now that we know that this can solicit a polite applause at best, I think it’s appropriate to expect the second season to be visually pretty but tepid in terms of storytelling. Yeah. I might drop this if the action does not kick in three episodes later in this season.

3-gatsu no Lion

54c3ca507d6cee27ae32a63fe7b0996746d85e3d

Expectation: My love for this show has waned since Shaft is determined to animate this without removing the jarring (and unfunny) comedy. Talk about mood whiplash! On the other hand, Sangatsu no Lion is really good when it explores its emotional core. That alone is enough for me to watch it.

Kidou Senshi Gundam: Tekketsu no Orphans 2nd Season

a0253070cbd37b15cb3909e08a901085e2b0642f

Expectation: I was supposed to drop this but the recent developments piqued my interest again. Please, no more half-cooked deaths. Explore the political side and/or Tekkadan’s thirst for power. You can do this.

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu

622b92a02add0b23a7330c848806406f0567329e

Expectation: Simply said, my anime of 2016 is bound to have a sequel and it’s more likely that this will dominate this season again. That’s all. Kidding. Perhaps I am more excited to see things in Yotaro’s eyes, and a closure to Sukeroku and Kikuhiko’s relationship. I was spoiled to the developments of the second cour and man, I assure you it’s going to be dark. It’s all up to the director to handle the unreliable narratives in this show.

MEH

Masamune-kun no Revenge

438152e944bc16805f10f5dff6420c2fe720e873

Summary: “As an overweight child, Makabe Masamune was mercilessly teased and bullied by one particular girl, Adagaki Aki. Determined to one day exact his revenge upon her, Makabe begins a rigorous regimen of self-improvement and personal transformation.

Years later, Masamune re-emerges as a new man. Handsome, popular, with perfect grades and good at sports, Masamune-kun transfers to Aki’s school, and is unrecognizable to her. Now, Masamune-kun is ready to confront the girl who bullied him so many years ago and humiliate her at last. But will revenge be as sweet as he thought?

Expectation: At least the premise is blatant trash. I personally wish it’ll be in line with Kiss Him, Not Me’s lighthearted take on a disturbing premise. Yet that show’s a rarity since these shows have the tendency take itself too seriously (Hi HenNeko) or utter downgrade later on (Haganai Season 2, Nocoume)

ChäoS;Child

1766aba3adaff50688569111fe6ece0a345340da

Summary: ChäoS;Child takes place in October 2015, six years after the events of ChäoS;HEAd. Abnormal events begin to occur in Shibuya district, including mysterious deaths.

Expectation: Oh, it’s Occultic;Nine! Seriously, I have a trauma on semi-colon series at this point all thanks to the frustration Steins;Gate’s false promise.

Little Witch Academia (TV)

742164b1ccabbbc910187df8db86f3bd8b5cba75

Summary: The story revolves around Akko, who as a child watched the witch Shiny Chariot perform a show, and from then on dreamed of becoming a witch. She enters the Luna Nova Academy, a school for witches that Shiny Chariot attended. In this new town she meets new friends and starts a new school life. At the school she has lessons on riding brooms and the wonder of magic, but Akko and her friends Lotte and Sucy keep getting wrapped up in tumultuous events.

Expectation: My only concern with this show is if it has anything else to offer. I watched both of the films and I think the magic has worn off in the second one. Oh well. It’s from Trigger so I expect it to be visually good.

Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon

c2b9a41e915b1aa5355a10b87866e2316ee86028

Summary: Miss Kobayashi is your average office worker who lives a boring life, alone in her small apartment–until she saves the life of a female dragon in distress. The dragon, named Tohru, has the ability to magically transform into an adorable human girl (albeit with horns and a long tail!), who will do anything to pay off her debt of gratitude, whether Miss Kobayashi likes it or not. With a very persistent and amorous dragon as a roommate, nothing comes easy, and Miss Kobayashi’s normal life is about to go off the deep end!

Expectation: Kyo-Ani being Kyo-Ani. I bet this will be a fun but ultimately empty slice of life affair. I am not against it since I still think they release shows which are 75% than what’s in the market right now.

Noitamina Slot

Kuzu no Honkai

5e8d7c6dd3cc1484f39744a725d6c451b433b1ea

Summary:17-year-old Awaya Mugi and Yasuraoka Hanabi appear to be the ideal couple. They are both pretty popular, and they seem to suit each other well. However, outsiders don’t know of the secret they share. Both Mugi and Hanabi have hopeless crushes on someone else, and they are only dating each other to soothe their loneliness. Mugi is in love with Minagawa Akane, a young teacher who used to be his home tutor. Hanabi is also in love with a teacher, a young man who has been a family friend since she was little. In each other, they find a place where they can grieve for the ones they cannot have, and they share a loneliness-driven physical intimacy. Will things stay like this for them forever?

Expectation: I read the first two chapters and I can’t say I am hooked. Nonetheless, I am up for some twisted portrayals of relationships so I will give this a try. Just don’t happily swing to the soap opera side, no?

Mildly Curious

ACCA 13-ku Kansatsu-ka

5a40557ed1652b0d8ca324d319380afc736d46d5

Summary:The kingdom of Dowa, which is subdivided into 13 states, is celebrating its monarch’s 99th birthday. These thirteen states have many agencies that are controlled by the giant organization known as ACCA. Within ACCA, Jean Otis is the second-in-command of the inspection agency. His agency has 10 people placed in each of the 13 states, with a central office in the capital city. They keep track of all the activities of ACCA across the kingdom, and keep data on each state’s ACCA office flowing towards the central office. Jin also often has business trips from the capital to the other districts, to check on the situation and personnel there.”

Expectation: First, Madhouse usually makes visually good shows. Second, I don’t think it will have a central plot like in Joker Game. However, I think this show might work since we have a central character who witnesses things unfolding in his eyes. It’s just that I can’t be compelled to watch this like I did when I read Rakugo’s or ERASED’s summary. Also, apparently the mangaka created works that are considered critical darlings.

Onihei

902da4bee8949d955085350fc8508e3f162d7a2e

Summary:The blade arts of the “Devil” tasked with stiking down evils threatening a peaceful Edo! Heizou Hasegawa, upholding the role of chief officer protecting against crime and arson! In 1783, the heart of the Tenmei era, Hasegawa held the office of chief director of the department charged with sustaining safety in the region, suppressing the most vile of thieves and criminals, an individual largely feared, renowned as Devil Heizou…

Expectation: Wait. This looks like your Mononoke and Katanagatari crossover! This solicited mild curiosity in my part since Drifters can be really good if it’s serious. So…. Yeah, I am going to watch this not just because I have to watch at least ten shows per season. I just hope it won’t do Drifter’s awful humor. That’s all.

Well, that’s my take in this otherwise meh season yet I hope it won’t be as bleak as I thought.

4 thoughts on “Samui’s Winter 2017 Watchlist

  1. Just checked the chart at last, and yeah this is my list as well…. except only S2 of March and Rakugo, ACCA and Onihei as ‘maybe’, and My Witch Academia and Kuzu no Honkai (slight Aku no Hana vibe there) as ‘maybe-but-probably-not’. Time to ditch this seasonal viewing thing and prioritize the backlog for me.

    Like

  2. Nice summaries.

    I’m tracking Masamune-kun no Revenge with some interest because it looks like it might explore the concepts of atonement and forgiveness at a serious level. (At least that is the first impression I am getting from roaming around in the manga.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh. First thank you for your comments Huusker.

      Secondly, I think I will take this seriously IF the tone of atonement will be played seriously. I am a sucker for regret/forgiveness themed series.

      Like

Leave a Reply

