Samui’s 7 Days of Anime – Prologue (The Harvest for Waifus and Husbandos in 2016)

My version of anibloggers’ 12 Days of Anime. Come on, read this!

This is where I talk about moments which made a big impact in me this year. I started this tradition on 2015 in MyAnimeList and ended it as the first post in this blog. I will post articles starting on Christmas Day until December 31 or early January.

Man, time sure flies fast.

For my prologue, let me go blatant about my fudanshi tints. This year marked my full affiliation with the fujoshi camp and read BL mangas like crazy. I cannot remember how many did I actually finish. I just felt like a glorious trash upon reading one after another. Has this affected my anime watching experience? Honestly, yes… in a way I now look for ikemen in the show I can add to my husbando list.

Wait – I thought you have a girlfriend? Are you going to swing that way now you read BL?

The simple answer is no, at least in 3D. I am not going to deny I was carried by some stories I read though. As I said to one of my Twitter nakamas, 3D is too much. Let me just enjoy watching these fictional characters go doki doki with each other.

For this post, let me throw my straightness out of the window and giggle like a high schooler for my bountiful harvest for husbandos and waifus this year. Which should we go first? Ah – let me boast my not-so refined list.

Gotou Hidenori – Samurai Flamenco

gotou-hidenori-full-1661232

Seriously, I was chatting with a friend as I wonder why did I have taken a liking to this broken policeman. He is probably the dude who will answer you sourly when you asked questions, and he’ll likely smack you in the face if you annoy him. Yet there’s something about Gotou which made me wish he is in Samurai Flamenco all the time. Is it his Kyon-like musings about Hazama and whatever the hell is happening in their fictional Japan?

Don’t fool yourself samui, you’re weak with black haired leads voiced by your favorite voice actors.

Subaru Natsuki – Re: Zero – Starting Life in Another World

natsuki-subaru-full-2044071

I must have hit my head somewhere when I created this post. Subaru is nowhere near your usual bishounen lead. He looks plain, his behavior is godawful and he is actually powerless without his return by death skill. So why? I simply love a goofy Subaru even in the middle of a crucial fight, and color me amused with the effects of his foolish actions in the whole cast of Re:Zero.

This guy needs a hug – and a smack.

Shinobu Nakajima – Poco’s Udon World

308858

There is a 100% chance of me liking a character if he/she has a cynical view in the world but remains kind at heart. Nakajima, like Gotou, is the best pal of the main lead but isn’t just relegated in the sidelines. He has his own circumstances, and I argue these are even more compelling than Tawara’s. Oh – don’t forget his shark teeth and his ‘I am bored’ look.

Orga Itsuka – Mobile Gundam Suit: Iron Blooded Orphans

291726

You know what, I became a voice actor nerd all thanks to the dude who voiced Orga Itsuka in this show. The dancho needs to take some good rest though. He’s overworking himself to death. I won’t be shocked if he dies in the series right before the end.

Yotaro – Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinju

czdw62humaa79xt

Protect this sunshine kid from all harms in the world! Well, he is so dumb to be tainted though. Seriously – the dude’s too naive even when he’s actually a yakuza. It makes me want to create a squad to ensure he’ll live life with Konatsu in the second season.

Obi – Akagami no Shirayuki-hime 

obi___akagami_no_shirayukihime___vector_by_headstro-d9vzfqd

Probably the most interesting character in the show, he presented a good chemistry with Shirayuki beyond the latter’s doki doki stance with Zen. Mischievous and mysterious at the same time, Obi remained an enigma but a relatable supporting character in the show. Yet he is also the series’ resident bully. Man, I remembered laughing at his quips with Mitsuhide, Zen and Shirayuki.

Oumae Kumiko – Sound! Euphonium 2

oumae-kumiko-full-1981035

The omnipresent observer from Sound! Euphonium ramped up her adorableness and sealed her place as one of my waifus. She’s the kind of girl who is cold but can be involved enough when circumstances dictate so. The fact she doesn’t look your typical Kyoto Animations girl is also a big plus in my book. Can’t she grow up now?

Mary – Hai to Gensou no Grimgar

mary_ch

First, see the reasons why I put Gotou and Nakajima in this list. Second, oh gosh she is really pretty. Her past is compelling, and her vulnerable mode washes all the fudanshi in me. Maybe I am a straight dude as far as 2D is concerned after all!

Aqua – KonoSuba

c3cbd5a93ce546f1b85ddb2c9a879474

The useless goddess is my favorite female character of 2016 and it’s easy to see why. She’s self-centered, her skills are downright pathetic and she’s Chitose – only magnifed 1,000 times. Yet what made her character work is she’s supposed to be like Emilia-tan but acted the other way around. I want this girl!

Nico – Kiznaiver

301986

Oh – a chuunibyo! Let me take her instead of Megumin. Why? She’s actually cute and has more depth than the former (as if Konosuba needs character development).

CC – Code Geass

6157e0ddaa7a546e

Yes – I only watched Geass this year and was supposed to ship Suzaku and Lelouch. Damn it, the beauty in the name of CC came. Her detached stance made her 200% more seductive and her moe mode killed me numerous times in the show. Code Geass might not have landed in my Top 40, but she is the character I loved the most in it.

Yayaka  – Flip Flappers

yayaka_115690

I guess she fills my quota for finding a good tsundere this year. Thankfully, Flip Flappers provided depth in her character. Lastly, she can fight – and in a badass way. I wouldn’t mind being stepped on by this girl. (That’s low samui.)

That’s it! I am done with the prologue of this week-long post. See you tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Samui’s 7 Days of Anime – Prologue (The Harvest for Waifus and Husbandos in 2016)

    1. Of course, Mary is the best among in the list. The girl got her full development in the show. Now, when she and Haru will hook? Kidding.

      PS: I didn’t include Shirayuki because that would be a cheat.

      Like

Leave a Reply

