Spring 2017 – Samui’s Watchlist

Turns out, this season is not much better than Winter’s drab offerings.

Eight shows. This is the number of series I am enjoying this season. Ao No Exorcist aside, I am having fun with the sequels just as much as their originals and Kuzu no Honkai and Maid Dragon are pleasant surprises for me. Turns out, Winter is just as potent as Spring last year (which is a good thing if you ask).

Now to this upcoming season. I am asking myself if Spring is the new Fall because of the abundance of sequels. I just realized this fact when I am cherry picking shows from livechart and found out that about five, or six out of twelve I am going to follow are damn… continuations. Well, there’s the looooong awaited Attack on Titans sequel everyone is talking about, the fun (but tepid) My Hero Academia and (the underrated) StarMyu. For new shows? I’ll just say I am hoping something(s) will break my typical cynical views about Light Novel adaptations.

Let’s start?

GOD DAMN SEQUELS

My Hero Academia

Samui’s Take: While I really do enjoy the character dynamics in this show, I am praying for someone to push the fast-forward button because of the horrible pacing. We were stuck in the training arc… and I heard the next season will feature the tournament arc. Seriously, I am not fond of tournament arcs so… please do something different about it. On a slightly positive note, at least we know what we will get from My Hero Academia – a genuinely fun show but full of shounen tropes.

Attack on Titan

Samui’s Take: Similar with My Hero Academia, Attack on Titan suffered from a wobbly pacing at some parts. Yet when it does good, it gives an AOTY vibe that saves this series from its production and pacing problems. Fortunately, I like the show enough to read the manga afterwards and I am optimistic that this bags plot developments that will revive the craze.

PS: Make Eren less whiny, Mikasa less stalker-ish and develop them beyond their archetypal character traits. Thank you.

Saekano: How to Raise a Boring Girlfriend – flat

Samui’s Take: Meh. I barely enjoyed the first season of Saekano and I am not sure whether the sequel’s title pokes fun with the show. The Monogatari style of direction is the only thing I appreciated in this show because the characters are flat, the jokes are flat and whole damn situation is flat. So why am I still opting to watch this? I am a masochist – Saekano was never boring. I was annoyed big time but it kept me awake. So…. I hope the jokes are not that flat this time.

Starmyu

Samui’s Take: I watched the first season of Starmyu with innocence back then (aka I am still not that tainted with BL) and it turned out to be sooo fun. I loved how these characters were written and something about the first season struck me as pure fun. The random music videos are hilariously placed, and everything here is squeaky clean (probably that’s why I cannot taint this innocent show with my fudanshi-ness). Now, I expect more of the same with this season of Starmyu. Don’t fail like most sequels do.

Little Witch Academia

Samui’s Take: Sometimes, too much consistency is bad for a show. Little Witch Academia is very good but none of its first ten episodes were outstanding. There’s an event, Akko’s child-like optimism causes them trouble but the same saves them at the end of the day. That’s your typical Little Witch Academia episode. I hope that the second cour will be more plot-oriented as we finally got to know each of these characters.

PS: Give Diana more screen time. Pretty please?

Rage of Bahamut: Virgin Soul

Samui’s Take: Given how I tremendously enjoyed the first season, I was glad this exists. Rage of Bahamut is a fantasy story done right even when it fell apart towards the end. Yet hey, I am not normally fond of anime based on video or card games (Danganronpa is the sole exception). Hence, it is a good thing. Well, I see that a girl is now the central lead in this sequel. Where’s Favaro?

The Eccentric Family 2

Samui’s Take: As much as I like the first season of The Eccentric Family, I agree that it takes too much of world-building and character moments in expense of its plot. I loved the ending when the shit hits the fan so… I guess that will be the continuation of this sequel. This is an original one so I pray to kamisamas to retain the impeccable execution of the first season.

MEH

Sakurada Reset

Summary: “Nearly half the population of Sakurada, a small town near the Pacific Ocean, has some sort of unique power. These powers range from being able to enter the mind of a cat, to resetting the world back to a certain point in time in the past. There is a group known as the “Kanrikyoku” that controls and monitors the use of these powers. Asai Kei and Haruki Misora work for their school’s club called “Houshi” club, which execute any missions received from the Kanrikyoku. Misora has the ability to reset the world 3 days. This means that all events and any memory of the past 3 days that “could have” happened, never happened. Kei has the ability to “remember” the past. Even after Misora uses her powers to reset the world back 3 days, Kei will retain those 3 days in his memory. Combining their powers, these two solve missions issued by the Kanrikyoku.”

Samui’s Take: Why am I getting a Beautiful Bones: Sakurako’s Investigation vibes in the show? I mean, will this be a pretty episodic flair whose quality is dependent on the mini-arcs it presents? Or will it have a central mystery which these characters will unveil? I prefer the latter one but let’s see. The premise sounds good enough for a look.

Sakura Quest

Summary: “The story centers on five girls who work in the tourism bureau of their small provincial town. The town revives its “micro-nation” tourism program, which originated from a nationwide movement during Japan’s bubble economy period, and hires the five girls as “monarchs” (tourism ambassadors). The anime will depict one year in their jobs in the tourism industry, and show how they change and grow.”

Samui’s Take: This is not Shirobako, seriously. Anyway, Shirobako was really good with what it did so I guess I can safely invest in this show. You got cute working girls and a realistic scenario then I suppose the anime will dump us useful pieces of information about tourism. I hope PA Works will find success with Sakura Quest because its latest strings of anime series have been a miss (Charlotte’s sales are too low for a Maeda work, I think)

GranBlue Fantasy – the Animation

Summary: “This is a world of the skies, where many islands drift in the sky. A boy named Gran and a talking winged lizard named Vyrn lived in Zinkenstill, an island which yields mysteries. One day, they come across a girl named Lyria. Lyria had escaped from the Erste Empire, a military government that is trying to rule over this world using powerful military prowess. In order to escape from the Empire, Gran and Lyria head out into the vast skies, holding the letter Gran’s father left behind – which said, “I will be waiting at Estalucia, Island of Stars”.

Samui’s Take: Basically a pretty standard premise for a fantasy show. I just want to see why A-1 Pictures decided to adapt this despite the fact they have enough materials for a Sword Art Online sequel. That series, while almost universally hated, was a cash cow. Anyway, it was an Aniplex show so A-1 will not lose much here. For GranBlue, please do not be boring like that disappointing Tales of Zestiria adaptation.

Tsuki ga Kirei

Summary: “Kotarou Azumi and Akane Mizuno became third year students at junior high school and are classmates for the first time. These two, along with fellow classmates, Chinatsu Nishio and Takumi Hira, relate to their peers through mutual understandings and feelings. As their final year at junior high school progresses, the group overcome their challenges to mature and become aware of changes in themselves.”

Samui’s Take: Oooooh. The Amanchu!!! and Flying Witch vibes are getting over me here folks. My only concern is the premise looks a bit too blase so I hope the character writing will be above average, at the least.

Kabukibu!

98c399354a79429e812ef685ab7b1b4398811027

Summary: “Kurogo is a young boy who loves Kabuki, a traditional Japanese performing arts. When he enters high school, he finds out that there is no Kabuki performing club. Kurogo and his best friend Tombo decide to form a Kabuki club (Kabukibu) by themselves.

Samui’s Take: Actually, this is my most anticipated Spring anime but then, I took a look with the Light Novel illustrations versus the anime designs and it felt like… too moe? Yet kabuki is a pretty fascinating premise for an anime and given how a certain rakugo-centered  show wowed the most of us, I think this can offer another great infomercial about the Japanese culture. Anyway, DEEN has been churning home runs since last year so… I believe they can pull a clean adaptation with this one too.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Spring 2017 – Samui’s Watchlist

  1. I’ll try not to spoil anything, but Titan’s second season will focus largely on the (arguably more interesting) supporting cast. And as for Eren being less whiny, I thought he actually covered a decent emotional spectrum last time. He watched his mother die, thought he’d fail in the military, was impulsive and suffered the consequences, leant to trust and had it shattered… As far as obnoxious teenagers go, I’d take him over Ajin’s Ken Nagai any day.

    But largely the style is selling me on it. There’s some CG usage, but it’s kept in the background or subject to constant “camera” movement. The lines are thinner, the shading makes most of the year’s other anime look incomplete, and even the famous action scenes are a step up. Other than that, I’ll wait till Hero is over so I can power through it like season 1, I didn’t see Eccentric Family, Bahamut isn’t available in Australia anywhere, and none of the new ones pop out.

    Like

    1. To defend Nagai, the dude was robbed off his ordinary life when it was discovered that he was an Ajin. Hey that sociopath of a lead deserves more love. 😀

      Ouch. You mean, The Eccentric Family won’t be available in Crunchyroll Australia? That’s… really.. sad. As far as the new ones are concerned, yes, these are even more blah than the Winter 2017’s already tepid offerings.

      Like

Leave a Reply

