Best of Winter 2017 – Ranking The Shows From This Season

The ice starts to thaw and we are up to a warm spring ahead – no.

Uwa. Maybe I strayed too much in my BL foray that I forgot that I need to regularly post in this blog. Well, technically I am writing for VoxArtes but it’s only here I can throw shit or praise a show to the highest heavens.

So.. how am I today? I am currently watching Seirei no Moribito – a series that works wonders in terms of plot development but lacks the oomph in terms of character writing (the latter was partly solved in episode 19). Folks, you should watch that gem if you have no anime to watch at the moment.

Back to this season, I really do not know if I am experiencing a burnout or these shows are really not that entertaining to begin with. I daresay the sequels trampled the new offerings big time but these aren’t excused for getting murkier later on. Iron Blooded Orphans went in an ugly and steep dive in terms of plot and character writing (Seriously, how will this show end?) while throwing the grand schemes the first season promised. The Ao no Exorcist sequel is a big blah, thanks for taking itself too seriously and the deliberate horrible pacing. On the other side of the spectrum, Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu: Sukeroku Futatabi-hen ended with a bang, and left some juicy revelations people ended talking about.

I guess let us begin ranking these shows as usual.

THE RANKING

  1. Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu: Sukeroku Futatabi-hen
  2. Kuzu no Honkai
  3. Little Witch Academia
  4. Sangatsu no Lion
  5. Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon
  6. Kono Subarashi Sekai ni Shufuku wo! 2
  7. Tanya the Evil
  8. Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans S2
  9. ACCA: 13-ku Kansatsu-ka
  10. Ao no Exorcist: Kyoto Fujou-hen
  11. Interviews with Monster Girls
  12. Fuuka

Shows I will include in my yearend list: Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu: Sukeroku Futatabi-hen, Kuzu no Honkai

Shows I consider decent:  Anything above Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans S2

Show to skip:   Fuuka

THE RAMBLINGS

The dwindling number of posts in this blog is not just because I indulged myself over 3-D. Man, this season has basically nothing much to write about! Rakugo is good, and the community thinks likewise. Kuzu no Honkai is provocative and the elitists are so busy tearing the show apart for all the convenient reasons. I am more keen on defending the latter, since Rakugo finally gets its much deserved love in this season.

It’s time to say Lerche has a knack for good adaptations. School Live!, Assassination Classroom and Danganronpa were given life in anime format and I really appreciated the studio managed to capture the strong emotions the author intended to put in these mangas (or video games in case of Danganronpa).

Kuzu no Honkai is not an exemption. Even more, the anime adaptation elevated the manga by choosing the right production values. People say the show is all tell but not show but I do not mind. The anime is a fascinating study of people’s needs and how they chose the long way around to get things. Just how can you decode Hanabi or Akane’s train of thoughts by simply moving? I mean, their emotions are so complex we will end up confused if we do not get explanations – and lengthy ones for that.

Little Witch Academia is on-going and it is the anti-thesis of Classicaloid. Both lack plot development but Little Witch Academia knows how to construct good episodic flairs that do not feel repetitive (even when its consistency is its biggest flaw). Now that the Seven Words of Arcturus is unveiled as its main plot, I think the second cour will be much better. Here’s to us hoping Little Witch Academia can also do overarching plot with finesse.

As for Sangatsu no Lion, hey there. Do not look that surprised! The Shimada Arc redeemed this show’s tendency to do excessive monologues. The last five or six episodes were really strong so it ends as an upper tier show this season. I am not as enamored as other episodes though. Too bad, I think the sisters and Kyoko are likable enough. Then I also though Shaft is diminishing the show’s impact. Ugh.

For the others? Kobayashi might not sell enough BDs but the show is a welcome entry for Kyoto Animation’s usually good track record. I love how this incorporates the concept of family minus the moe (Kanna is not that moe, folks) and it embraces some LGBT love without the fan pandering. Probably, that is also the reason why it did not sell. And for the Winter 2017 torchbearer, KonoSuba‘s ending is probably the most awesome here and it makes me wish that all other episodes were as crazy as this. Studio DEEN is saving anime folks!

For the others?

  • Iron Blooded Orphans threw the towel this time and proceeded with the killing spree. Man, I should be crying right now but I am rolling my eyes on how heavy handed these were directed. I was fine when Tekkadan was cornered by Rustal but what I am not is the quick slaughter when the series was dilly dallying on its mid parts. The death scenes are also repetitive that the impact was sooo diminished I am just waiting for the end to come. What happened to the build-up for Kudelia’s role in the revolution? Why the hell McGillis’ plan fizzled before it began? Why the crap Iok is still alive when someone who needs plot development (Hi Hush Middy) was killed like a fly? Yet hey, this is a very non-Gundam way to present this franchise, so it might be refreshing isn’t it? The huge drop in sales say otherwise though.
  • ACCA is the elitist bait show this season that I surprisingly did not bite. The deliberate slow pacing makes no sense for most of the time and the characters do nothing but talk… talk… talk… about the coup that lasted (?) for an episode. The eleventh episode made me cringe in a way we get some action but damn… that was undercooked. Do not even begin with the finale. Sigh. Disappointment galore. Or we need a second cour to explore the political intricacies of this series.
  • Ao no Exorcist’s sequel… what’s the point of adapting this if it’s not two-cour series? Also please bring back the spunk of season 1. I cannot see anything new added with Kyoto Fujou-hen though.
  • Monster Girls is a hit and miss. I wonder why A-1 decided not to end this on episode 11. The humor is fine but I wish I skipped the parts where Satou-sensei pawns over Takahashi and the harem aspect that went nowhere in the end. I like the show enough when it touches the social effects of being a demi. Sadly, it did not stay too much on that topic. Moe and Comedy rule, isn’t it? Ugh.
  • Lastly, Fuuka…. zzz…. I am betting this is one of the worst anime series in 2017. The most stupid romance in years (Glasslip has now a challenger! Banzai) has come to an end and I cannot help but feel I was liberated from this borefest.

Hell yeah, Spring 2017 is looking even worse and Spring is normally the most consistent season in an anime year. Maybe it’s time to ditch this seasonal thing. Or not.

2 thoughts on “Best of Winter 2017 – Ranking The Shows From This Season

  1. “…elitists are so busy tearing the show apart for all the convenient reasons.”

    If I gave reasons for why the show’s depiction of sexuality is problematic, to say the least, would you be interested in looking at them? It might be that you’re annoyed that none of the critics are being clear enough/their reasons make no sense.

    Like

    1. “If I gave reasons for why the show’s depiction of sexuality is problematic, to say the least, would you be interested in looking at them?”

      – Sure, I would love to.

      Like

Leave a Reply

