Summer 2017 – Samui’s Watchlist

All aboard to the summer season!

Unfortunately, my anemic reception towards anime this year is still there given that these new offerings really swim on mediocrity. It does not help that I am watching Princess Tutu and Little Witch Academia right now and Tutu does right what the latter cannot. On a good note, none of what I am watching this season is really bad (no Fuuka here folks). It is just, these are so average I actually appreciated Saekano‘s and Kado‘s quirkiness.

Going back to this upcoming season, I hoped Summer 2017 offers the ceiling of its counterpart last year. Mob Psycho 100 was emotionally and visually compelling, Orange took a different approach in your stale romance shows, and Re: Zero is freaking Re: Zero for better or for worse.

That being said, I think this upcoming season has diversity but I am not so sure about the quality. Weirdly though, it has a heck of carryovers that may or may not tramp new offerings. Let’s start!

THE CARRYOVERS

Re: Creators

03

Samui’s Take: Can’t, you like, stop the Monogatari/Durarara!!! style of storytelling now? The OP is the only reason why I am still watching your show. Also, you did the biggest blunder this season by killing the best character. Oh God.

My Hero Academia

02

Samui’s Take: My Hero Academia is slowly regaining the momentum and it has become ridiculously enjoyable again! I already spoiled myself with the results of the tournament arc and yeah, I was right to root for that bastard character all along! Let me see what sakugas Bones will pull in the next episodes.

Shingeki no Bahamut: Virgin Soul

04

Samui’s Take: Well, I am still going to watch this for the sake of Favaro and what he will inject to make this lifeless sequel tolerable. Nina alone will never make the Bahamut franchise interesting. The bishoujo gods are also freaking annoying I swear. Like. Seriously.

Sakura Quest

06

Samui’s Take: This series still errs on the wrong side of saccharine and trite, but then, it has the grounded feel PA Works usually evoke so I will stick on watching it.

Owarimonogatari

08

Samui’s Take: The Monogatari Series is a reliable source for good shows and I feel placing a very safe bet by watching this. More Ouigi please?

MEH

Token Ranbu

07

Summary: “The year is 1863 as the tumultuous samurai era is coming to an end, Japan is split between the pro-shogunate and anti-shogunate factions. The fate of the world is threatened as an army of historical revisionists are sent from the future to alter the course of history. In order to bring these forces down and protect the real history, two sword warriors, spirits who are swords brought to life by Saniwa (sage), rush to Edo.

Samui’s Take: God damn it ufotable! First, you gave us the disappointing God Eater adaptation and then the boilerplate Tales of Zestiria – the X. Is Fate the only series you are capable of translating into anime nicely?

Netsuzou Trap (NTR)

09

Summary: “Yuma and Hotaru are childhood friends and neighbors, although both have boyfriends, Hotaru kissing and seducing Yuma often passing it through a joke. While having to keep what happens between them in secret, Yuma will be confused by her feelings.

Samui’s Take: I read the manga of this one, and yuri has got to be better than this heavy-handed offering. To be frank, I liked its premise first a la Kuzu no Honkai. However, it went to the trite road instead of developing our leads. I stopped by the time our leads are wearing bunny suit for God knows why. It has its moments though.

Dive!

13

Summary: “The story centers on the Mizuki Diving Club (MDC) member Tomoki Sakai. The MDC has fallen on hard times, and their sponsors are preparing to pull their support. They promise to give the club another year of support if the new coach, Kayoko Asaki, can get one of the members into the Olympics in a year’s time.

Samui’s Take: For a noitamina show, I feel they finally jumped the shark and removed all the traces of its high-concept premises. Well, they might pull another Fune wo Amu in this case but the trash in me says this will become another Saekano. Ugh

Koi to Uso

01

Summary: “In the near future, when young people in Japan turn sixteen, they are assigned a marriage partner by the government. People don’t have to go through the trouble of looking for someone, and everyone accepts that the country will find a compatible partner to make them happy.

Samui’s Take: Let’s see how stupid romantic cliches will work with a series with an equally ridiculous premise.

LUKEWARM

Hitorijime My Hero

14

Summary: “Story involving Kensuke’s brother, Ooshiba Kousuke and friend, Setagawa Masahiro from Hitorijime Boyfriend.

Samui’s Take: For a demographic full with awful tropes, I swear to God Hitorijime My Hero is a refreshing take for its smooth romance. That goes on to say I already read the manga and I smiled after reading its first volume. I hope the anime can capture the nuances of our leads here because My Hero is an aberrant as far as BL works are concerned. Also, I am so thankful we did not get to see the My Boyfriend part animated. That one is so cliched I puke.

Kakegurui

05

Summary: “When you’re the sons and daughters of the wealthiest of the wealthy, it’s not athletic prowess or book smarts that keep you ahead. It’s reading your opponent, the art of the deal. What better way to hone those skills than with a rigorous curriculum of gambling? At Hyakkaou Private Academy, the winners live like kings, and the losers are put through the wringer.

Samui’s Take: With the recent incident here in our country that involved gambling, I cannot help but feel a bit uncomfortable with this series. That aside, I am curious how MAPPA will pull this granted it is handled by the Garo director. Well, MAPPA itself is a hit or miss so I am cautiously optimistic with Kakegurui.

Nanamaru Sanbatsu

15

Summary: “The last thing freshman Shiki Koshiyama expected was to be asked to join the Bunzo High School “New Student Fast Finger Quiz Championship.” A bookwork at heart, he hates being the center of attention and shudders at the mere thought of participating. To add insult to injury, his classmate Mari Fukami overwhelms her competition by pressing the buzzer even before the entire question is read.”

Samui’s Take: I just picked this because I was a geek back then and quiz bees are my thing. I once placed fifth in a national accounting competition when I was a student so… I hope this will get at least the tension of joining a contest. Yep. That’s all.

GENUINELY EXCITED

Vatican Kiseki Chousakan

12

Summary: “Hiraga Josef Kou, a genius scientist, and Robert Nicholas, an archives and cryptanalysis expert. The two work as a team as the Vatican’s “miracle examiners,” traveling the world to investigate the authenticity of claims of miracles.”

Samui’s Take: The premise is slick and damn the character designs look good. I do not care if it’s your episodic flair as long as it gets The Flying Witch execution (you know, the naturalistic take over a flamboyant premise?). Moreover, JC Staff is a reliable studio with these kinds of show so…. I will bite this without reservation.

Welcome to the Ballroom!

10

Summary: “Feckless high school student Tatara Fujita wants to be good at something – anything. Unfortunately, he’s about as average as a slouchy teen can be. The local bullies know this, and make it a habit to hit him up for cash, but all that changes when the debonair Kaname Sengoku sends them packing. Sengoku’s not the neighborhood watch, though. He’s a professional ballroom dancer. And once Tatara Fujita gets pulled into the world of the ballroom, his life will never be the same.”

Samui’s Take: I will shut up and watch this series that screams potential classic. With Production IG on its back, we are up to a decently animated show at worst. Yet then, we got Haikyuu!!! and Kuroko no Basuke which were tastefully animated so go figures.

The summaries are provided by Livechart or Wikipedia. I am also curious about checking out Shoukoku no Altair, A Centaur’s Life and the Baka Test-esque Youkoso Jitsuryoku Shijou Shugi no Kyoushitsu e. Let us enjoy the Summer season!

Leave a Reply

